Buck Showalter Manager Of The Year Award Historic

The BBWAA voted to make Buck Showalter as the National League Manager of the Year. This award was historic for many reasons.

While this was the first time a New York Mets manager won the award, it was the fourth time Showalter did it. This ties him with Tony La Russa for the most all-time.

Showalter became the first manager to win the award with four different organizations. He’s also the first to win the award in four different decades.

Showalter also became the first manager to win the award after blowing a 10.5 game division lead. Apparently, the Mets collapse and Brian Snitker besting him when it mattered most was irrelevant to voters whose task was to find the best manager.

Showalter winning the award was a farce. It’s celebrating failure. It tells you being media savvy is of more importance than not blowing a historic lead.