Trivia Friday: Teams Who Have Never Won A Division Series

The St. Louis Cardinals jumping all over Mike Foltynewicz and Max Fried for 10 runs in the first, the Atlanta Braves were on their way to losing their eighth straight division series. While that is quite a long drought, the Braves did win five of their first six Division Series.

While that was a long drought, the most notable in the National League East was the Washington Nationals who had never won an NLDS since the team moved to Washington, D.C. That all changed when Howie Kendrick hit a grand slam off of Joe Kelly.

While that was the first NLDS victory for the Nationals, it was not the first one in team history. Steve Rogers would pitch a complete game shut out and go 2-for-3 at the plate with two RBI in Game 5 of the 1981 NLDS to knock off the Philadelphia Phillies in five games.

Of course, that NLDS was the result of a strike interrupted season. We would not see the return of the NLDS until 1995. Since that time, thanks to the Dodgers, there has only been one Major League franchise who has not won a Division Series. Can you name that team? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *